East Central and Quinte Home page

Quinte Soil & Crop
Newsletter  September 2015

For Hastings/Lennox & Addington, Northumberland, and Prince Edward Soil & Crop Members
This Issue Sponsored By: OMAFRA, OSCIA and See Sponsor Ads
Alpine Plant Food BASF - Diane Hall Bayer CropScience - Marieke Patton
Country Farm Seeds - Harold Huff County Automation - Dan Kempers County Farm Centre
Dekalb - Jason MacCuaig Dow Seeds - Craig Carson Dupont Pioneer - Mark McFaul
Maizex Seeds - Chad Mangan Pickseed Canada Precision Planting - Gary Parks
Quality Seeds - Doug Baker Royal Bank Terratec Environmental
TCO Agromart

AREA NEWS and Events September Quinte15web.pdf 424 kb. Add the
OSCIA News and Crop Talk from links below for the same as mailed copy
or this link has all 3 together September Quinte15printer.pdf 1740 kb.

OSCIA NEWS PDF file(490 kb)

  • Message from the President
  • "Covered livestock yard improves cattle comfort while reducing environmental footprint" - Lilian Schaer
  • Farmland Health Incentive Program is here! & GLASI Coupon - Jen Hoesen
  • OSGA Annual Meeting - December 8th
  • "2015 OSCIA Summer Tour - Oxford County" - Cathy Dibble
  • "Soil Champion's fields could unlock corn yield potential" - Lilian Schaer
  • OSCIA Launching a NEW WEBSITE!
  • Special thank you to Sylvite for Sponsoring the FREE Breakfast for members at COFS

CROP TALK - By OMAFRA Soil & Crop Specialists PDF file(690 kb)

  1. Synopsis of NNI requirements for growers
  2. Neonicotinoid regulations for growers
  3. Conducting a pest assessment for use of Class 12 Pesticides
  4. Crop rotations for each farm property
  5. Schedule of Ontario counties and regions when professional pest advisors are required

The Quinte SCIA Executive
President Mark Burnham 905 372-8263
Past President Justin Dorland 613-475-0891
Sec-Treas Henry Nyman 613-399-3429
Provincial Director Dale Ketcheson 613-477-1131
Regional Communication Coordinator Neil Moore 705-324-2594
Other Directors: Doug Young, Trevor Crowe, Lloyd Crowe, Shane Smith, Jim McComb, Scott Banks

Local Associations Hastings/L&A Northumberland Prince Edward
President Shane Smith Ian Laver Trevor Crowe
Sec/Treas Dale Ketcheson/Brad King Doug Young Michelle Voskamp